Albus’ Scheme – by Acadia Elle

Link: https://www.fanfiction.net/s/2114012/1/Albuss_Scheme

Rating: Acceptable Minus

The Basics: Phoenix Era, Romance 100k,

Warnings: Sexual Content, (there might be more, because I stopped reading)

WARNING: PARTIAL REVIEW
As with many of my low-rated fic reviews, I only read about halfway into this story before skimming to the end.
If anything in my review is inaccurate or misconceived as a result, please feel free to let me know and I will amend my review.

Hermione Granger, in her final year at Hogwarts, joins the Order of the Phoenix and trains with Severus Snape.

I feel like I should add this small disclaimer: have just completed reading a string of very high quality fics when I came across this one, so my review might be harsher than necessary as a result.

I read a pretty big chunk of the way into this fic. I thought it was going to be all right, but after Snape and Hermione married in the first quarter of the fic, I started to lose hope. Then there were a couple chapters of Hermione throwing tantrums when people were surprised by her marriage, and I just couldn’t read it anymore. So I skimmed for a bit and found more of the same – idealized relationship, sex, Order meetings, rinse and repeat. Not an interesting plot, not an interesting character study, not well-written enough to continue.

I did enjoy the romance in the first quarter of the fic, though. It had a nice curve to it and didn’t proceed too quickly. The banter between Snape and Hermione was interesting and believable. Snape was a little too open, I think, but not egregiously so. Hermione is a bit Mary Sue, but again, not egregiously so. Perhaps this would have been a nice 25k fic, but the author’s mistake was to drag it out another 75k words. Authors, please, the romantic tension needs to be in sync with the warplot tension. Otherwise the story just becomes tiresome, as it does here.

The other major problem I had with this fic is that they turn Dumbledore into a villain, which is one of my least favorite Harry Potter fic devices. He is sickeningly out of character, to the point that it made me very angry. I guess I’m a Dumbledore apologist. I like Classic Era Dumbledore best – twinkling, meddling, and handing out candy.

The bottom line: Maybe read the first 25k up until their marriage as a short fic, as that was enjoyable. Skip the rest, as it is little more than tragic misunderstandings and arguments with secondary characters.

Leave a Reply

