Pet Project – by Caeria

Link: https://www.fanfiction.net/s/2290003/1/Pet-Project

Rating: Outstanding

The Basics: Phoenix Era, Romance/Action, 330k

Warnings: Sexual Content, Violence

Sixth Year Hermione Granger, in her infinite Gryffindor compassion, observes that Professor Snape is exhausted. He barely eats, he never sleeps, he’s miserable – and worst of all, no some seems to notice or care. Given all that he continues to sacrifice for the Order, this is the very height of injustice as far as Hermione is concerned. She resolves to right this wrong, as only the full force of Hermione Granger’s study, intellect, and stubbornness can.

This fic is incredible. We’ll start there. I’m going to indulge in a few rambling Ravenclaw digressions for a bit, and then I’ll get back on track.

This fic is one that I missed when I did my Phoenix Era read-through. Although the fic was started in the Phoenix Era, 2005, it was not completed until 2013. Thus, it did not make it on to harmony_bites’ Completed Phoenix Epics list. I found it on her Work in Progress lists, which I recently went through to see if any of those were ever completed. I also had a commenter recommend it to me, which reminded me that I had bookmarked it – thank you!

Many epics are written over the course of real-life years, but it is very unusual for one to span EIGHT real-life years. I believe this is the first one I have read that was written over such a long period of time. I found this process delightful on a meta level. The fic starts out exploring Phoenix Era themes – Dark!Harry, Misguided!Dumbledore, Pureblood!Snape, Occlumency/Legilmancy, the Mauraders vs. Young Snape, and the Prophecy. The first third or so of the fic focuses mostly on these motifs. Then, as Half-Blood Prince descends, the author (skillfully, subtly) starts to weave in those new ideas – HalfBlood!Snape, Ruthless!Dumbledore, Slughorn, and Invaded!Hogwarts. Mercifully, she does not attempt to cram in Horcruxes or Snape killing Dumbledore, as both would have conflicted with her established plots. She adds in a few things from Deathly Hallows as well – Lily, Snape’s certainty of his own death, Badass!Neville, Occupied!Hogwarts. Many of my readers are relatively modern fans of the SSHG ship, and it’s difficult for you to understand what I mean when I talk about a ‘Classic Era’ fic, and how different in tone and content it is when compared to a Half-Blood Prince era one. Each ‘era’ has new themes and content that writers tend to fixate on, and they really are, in most cases, quite distinct from one another. This fic is an excellent remedial course in Phoenix Era, Half-Blood Prince era, and Hallows era fics, because you can feel the tone, themes, and content shift as the chapters and years pass. If you’re interested in this, make sure to read her Author’s Notes and track the changes. I found it fascinating.

I also want to give a bit of a disclaimer that this fic was practically tailor made for me. Sixth/Seventh Year Hogwarts meeting-of-the-minds that blossoms in to actual romance after Hogwarts is my favorite setting for SSHG. Hermione taking on Snape as a (VERY secret) ‘project’ is one of my favorite premises, because I find it to be very true to both characters. I prefer a long, lingering getting-to-know-you journey before romance. I love the mentor/mentee dynamic (that eventually blossoms in to equals.) I love the ‘meta’ aspects of fic-reading that occur because of the eight year writing span. This fic hits every one of my buttons, and obviously, a lot of my positive regard is going to be generated because of my preferences. I will try to be objective, though.

All right, actual review content, let’s go! We’ll start with the characterizations. Because the fic is so old, they feel a bit ‘Classic Era’ and traditional in their roles of school girl and Potions master. Hermione is VERY much herself circa Order of the Phoenix, which is of course, an innocent, overeager, idealistic Gryffindor. She has all of the tenacity and intelligence that we always see, but modern fics tend to make her a bit more powerful and mature – that is not the case here (although she matures considerably as the fic progresses.) Snape is deliciously in character. I believe Snape’s characterization was my favorite part of this fic – it really felt PERFECT to me. Absolutely perfect. Harsh teaching methods (but for the greater good), regretful and bitter about his past but committed to correcting his mistakes (for himself, not for anyone else), resentful of Dumbledore’s control and meddling but full of care for the old man, unrepentantly hateful towards Harry both for being a symbol of Snape’s failures and because he sees Harry as carefree/careless despite his responsibilities – the greatest of sins to trapped-in-a-web-of-duty Snape, masks upon masks for the Slytherins/Trio/Voldemort – masks to the point that he forgets what it’s like to be vulnerable and pushes everyone away out of habit. I don’t need to tell you all what Snape is; you know. This fic gets it. He’s not Fanon!Snape or Dark!Snape or SadLonely!Snape or SexyMasculinePowerhouse!Snape or OverlyTortured!Snape – he’s just truly Severus Snape, with aspects of all of those various Snapes. Perfection.

The romantic pacing is excellent. I think it will be too slow for many of my readers, but I really enjoyed the detailed consideration of the developing friendship. Too many fics skip this! There are sooooo many lovely things to explore in this pairing – why rush? Sometimes slow romances can be clinical or tepid (as in The Five Winters) and that is not the case here. The friendship-into-romance is a tender, natural, beautiful life-form that is fully and delicately nurtured with each new page and with each new understanding that the characters gain about each other. Lovely stuff. Regrettably, there is a disappointing ‘tragic misunderstanding’ meant to roadblock the relationship that lasted for a handful of chapters, but it wasn’t bad enough that I had to skip ahead (as I often do for tragic misunderstandings.) After that, the romance felt a bit clunky and rushed (comparatively) as it had to contend with the descending warplot. Still, though, the romantic arc climax coincides with the warplot climax, which is always my hope for epic-length romance. It’s remarkable that she accomplished a tandem finish in a 338k fic.

I adored the writing in this fic. The world feels really fleshed-out, with believable and interesting minor characters. She somehow writes charming, sympathetic, and funny House Elves – even JK Rowling was not able to do that! I also really enjoyed Professor Vector, Neville Longbottom, and Ron. Yes, Ron – most fans of this ship dislike Ron, including myself, but there are a few fics that manage to make Ron likeable and give him some redeeming qualities. This is one of them. His loyalty and steadfastness are a great help to this fic’s Dark!Harry, and his usefulness as a Chess General as the war descends is really well done. A lot of fics describe Ron as a Chess General, but this fic shows him making excellent tactical decisions and cutting to the heart of complex situations. That is not easy to write! I also love that the author takes each of the Trio members on a coming-of-age journey. When you start reading the fic, you might be turned off by Innocent!Hermione, Angry!Harry, and BigDumb!Ron, but stick with it. Each of them matures and grows and is a powerful, passionate, mature witch or wizard by the end of the story. This author writes a full story that has themes and involves everyone; there is much more here than mere romance. That is not easy write, and I really appreciated the effort to create a whole story of value. For me, it works beautifully.

There is a lot of creativity on display. Hermione is dedicated to her books, her research, her checklists, and her innovative solutions. This is Hermione! I loved her solutions to Snape’s problems, especially the enchanted item of protection. It may be one of my favorite fanfic inventions ever. I loved the way she stumbled across the idea, I loved her struggle to make it and I loved her eventual success (and the way it wasn’t quite what she expected.) The Voldemort-defeating device is clever, although I’ve read something similar before (FAR more clever than the stupid Deathly Hallows wand technicalities. I will never get over that.) I really enjoyed this author’s version of Arithmancy; a confusing magical topic that most authors avoid. (Arithmancy was explored really well in A Walking Shadow, but I believe that’s the only other Arithmancy-heavy fic I’ve read.) It was a fantastic device for foreshadowing and creating tension in the warplot. There is also an exploration of House Elf culture and motivations that is splendidly done. Many authors avoid House Elves because Dobby was so damn annoying (rest in peace, free elf), but this author does an excellent job handling them. Somehow, she manages to make them so interesting, sympathetic, and crucial to the plot. The combination of great minor characters and great magical ideas really made this feel like the Harry Potter books through an SSHG lens, and that’s about the highest praise I can give to any fanfic.

I do have a few criticisms to levy, of course. The overall plot pacing was a bit uneven. It’s no surprise, as it was written over eight years in real-time. Unevenness seems bound to happen. The middle section stalls out for a while; there are many many conversations and developments that could have been better resolved in a descriptive section to keep the pacing tight. The writing is still page-turning and filled with delightful conversations – I absolutely could not put it down – but the middle section was not as good as the rest. I was also a bit disappointed with the romantic content. Yes, I loved the slow meeting-of-the-minds in the first third, but I felt that the most exciting part of the romance (the space between realizing you care for the person and acting on those feelings) was short-changed a bit. There are only a handful of romantic scenes between the first kiss and the full consummation, and it would have been better to explore that area a little more. The consummation was a bit awkward for me, because it took place somewhere that I felt others could barge in at any moment and I was stressed out the whole time. It just didn’t quite feel right due to the lack of physical build-up. So, although the romantic pacing was great, the romantic content in the latter stages of the relationship was not as good as it could have been. Lastly, I found Dark!Harry really tiresome, and was very relieved when he finally chilled out. Harry is one of my favorite characters and I don’t like it when he is out-of-character for plot, even though it was explained very well here.

The bottom line: For me, this is a nearly perfect fic. The writing is excellent, the banter is witty, the characterizations are spot-on (considering Hermione’s age and remembering that she matures as the fic progresses), the House Elves are ridiculously charming, the warplot is inventive – this fic gets high marks across the entire board. I think for some readers the romance will feel too slow, but I really believe you will still love the fic. I recommend this without reservation to any fan of the pairing – I even recommend as a ‘gateway fic’ to those who are NOT fans of the pairing, because the romance is so believable. Thank you for finishing your fic, Caeria; it’s amazing.

10 thoughts on “Pet Project – by Caeria

  1. This was my first ever SSHG fic. I started reading Harry Potter fanfiction in early 2015 (insanely late, I know) and I avoided all SSHG thinking: “no way would I ever be okay with that”. And then I read Pet Project and I haven’t looked back. The slow romance plot was really what did it. I’ve likened myself in the past to the frog in the proverbial pot of boiling water, and this fic was the perfect slow boil, until at the end of the fic I was in the hot water and I never wanted to leave. It’s no longer my favourite fic (that distinction belongs to Loten’s two masterpieces – which you haven’t reached yet) but it’s definitely in my top five still.

    • I saw this one in all of my SSHG searches back in the 2000’s, but I never read it because it was incomplete and I never, ever read incomplete fics. I was so delighted to find out that she’d finished it (AFTER I started this site in 2012, which is crazy!) and it was every bit as good as everyone told me it would be. I am very excited to eventually read Loten’s work. I feel like they are going to be my present for finishing harmony_bites’ lists (which end in 2008.) I was getting VERY close to the end until I started trawling through her Work in Progress lists, looking for completed works. There are dozens and dozens of fics in there that were eventually completed. I’m adding those to my reading before I continue forward so now I have years of reading ahead of me before I can progress beyond 2008. Oops!

  2. If you liked the Arithmancy plot point – I read a fic recently where Arithmancy is a major part of the plot as well, with Vector and Hermione working on the equations together – I thought it may have been Lariope’s Second LIfe, but now I don’t think so – I’m going to HAVE to find it now, or it’s going to drive me bananas. (by the way, Second Life is really quite good (even though it’s got that whole ‘whoops, you’re married’ thing), and it was written in 2008. Save it for after something rubbish :p ) It’s also one where they become close in HBP and continue to be in contact during DH. Might be Camarado…

    I’m going to go through my library to see which one it was with the arithmancy because I kind of want to reread (I’m about halfway with the Apprentice and the Necromancer at the moment – have you read that one (it was completed in 2007, I believe)? If you need an ereader copy give me a shout, because the one on ff.net has been edited to lower the rating, the one on AO3 is not complete, and the one on the author’s website consists of 25 pdf files. They’re very nice pdf files, of course, but hellishly inconvenient on a kindle).

    In other news – I feel like there aren’t enough fics where Snape and Hermione become close during HBP (I like the idea that he was secretly training her to help keep Harry alive) and end up working together during DH in secret. It gives so many opportunities for them to slowly fall in love with each other, I love it.

    Please forgive any incoherency in this comment – I’m running on a massive sleep deficit and I’m pretty sure my sensei tried to actually kill me last night.

    • I would definitely love your copy of Apprentice and the Necromancer! My e-mail is serpent.and.lily@outlook.com – thank you!

      I found it on harmony_bites’ ‘Completed Deathly Hallows, Year One’ list, which would suggest it was completed in 2008. It does say 2008 on fanfiction.net, too. Possibly she finished it on another archive first, which harmony_bites’ was unaware of? Anyway, I haven’t made it to Deathly Hallows Year One yet.

      I imagine I will enjoy the fic, because my husband adores necromancers. He plays one in our D&D game, he loves Garth Nix’s necromancy trilogy (Sabriel), he always plays the necromancer in video games, and wears/buys skeleton everything all of the time. I hope necromancy is an actual thing somehow in the story! Edit: sniffed around a little in the fanfiction.net version; it is indeed based on Sabriel! She uses the Gates of Death and bells to move through them and control the dead, just like Garth Nix’s story. Very cool.

      • Did the copy go through allright? I can share via dropbox if gmail is being stupid

      • Yes, it did! I’m sorry, I thought I responded. I just have a lot going on right now and won’t be reading (anything) for a bit.

    • Thank you for the recommendation! That one is beyond harmony_bites’ lists (she stopped updating in 2008) so I saved it for when I get to 2009 in my chronological reading. I’m always happy to have another one saved for when that time comes!

      • Ha! I’m so glad someone pointed that one out to you – I tried something like five times to leave a comment on this review reccing that exact fic before I got worried that you’d turned moderation on and may possibly think that I’m a crazy stalker.

        In other news, I’ve read Of Muggles and Magic by Aurette and now I’m desperate for more Regency AUs.

  3. There’s something warm and pleasant about reading a good review about something you already like 🙂 When I first put a toe into this pairing I read the Buried Life first and thought “Wow, I didn’t know this was a thing, but I’m interested.” Then I read Cloak of Courage and it was “This is a little silly but I’m into it.” Then came Pet Project and “Wait, wait- this feels real.” I’ve been a goner for SSHG ever since.

Leave a Reply

